Make a custom ringtone for iPhone 4S

I just got the new iPhone, and I thought I’d post this tutorial on how to make your own custom ringtone.

I used the free software called Techlogg.com ToneShop

http://toneshop.en.softonic.com/

I picked a song from my iTunes library, started up the software, then started filling in the fields.

The output format should be set to .m4r

I loaded my song from iTunes, set my Save directory to a directory called RingTones where I keep all my ringtones.

Ring tones need to be 30 sec or less. I listened to my song to decide where that 30 second clip should start. You can click Preview to listen to what you’ve cropped the sample to. Once you’re happy with the start and stop time, click Convert.

Find your new ring tone in your RingTones directory, and drag and drop it into the folder:

C:\Users\you\Music\iTunes\iTunes Media\Automatically Add to iTunes

Now, in iTunes, click on Tones, and you should see your new ring tone there!

Plug your iPhone into your computer and sync it, and now you can use your new ring tone on your iPhone 4S.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie
    May 22, 2012 @ 20:08:40

    I dropped in my .m4r files but it created a folder titled “Not Added”. Any help?

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 18:17:21

    I’m not too sure. Is your ring tone less than 30 sec? Is the file corrupted? When you double click on it, can you listen to it and does it sound correct?

    Reply

  3. Steve
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 16:29:03

    I have a problem i have the m4r file and i can double click it and it plays fine, but when i try add it in my library i can’t see it anywhere, and the tones box is selected in preferences.. any help?

    Reply

  4. Steve
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 16:30:37

    Nevermind all sorted thanks.
    Just didnt realize i could only view under the tones tab aha :)

    Reply

  5. Casey Sheather (@CaseySheather)
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 06:55:03

    I cant open my .m4r file in itunes and it wont play if i double click it. What is happening?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

pistolkitties on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

